Inclusive education – Apps to engage students with SEN.

Hello There,

steve-jobs-quotes-42

In 2014 I presented my 1st session at Braz-Tesol, where I could share with a group of 25 people including teachers and coordinators ideas and some apps that I used to work with my SEN students. I was very pleased to present my experience and how I used to engage my SEN students during my classes. Most of these apps are free and very easy to work with.

Today, I have found thousands of apps that it might help us to engage all students toward their learning process in an inclusive classroom and also keep up with other students in the classroom. I will share with you some apps and also websites that have been essential during my classes.

Apps:

1# Autism iHelp  – It is simply the best in my opinion. I remember using them with my son and then I introduced little by little with some students. You can create your own lesson plan based on this app. They have many kind of contents, so that you can work with your students in pair in a regular classroom or in private classes. It is easy to work with and you can ask your students’ parents to download for free the beta version.  It is also available for android.

2# Zoola Animals – It is all about animals. Most of the time, children with special needs have some pets to help them to improve their socialization with other people around. Animals are most of the time “good mediator” when it comes to involve these kids in the real world. So that using this app you can create activities, specially speaking tasks to improve their social skills and fluency. For instance:

what kind of animal do you like?

Do you like to go to the Zoo?

Do you have a pet?

what does the… say?

you can reinforce the activity working with this two websites: Super simple songs, color game . Therefore if you teach from Kindergaten to 10th grade, this is the best webiste ever. It is the number one during my classes. It doesn’t matter how old they are – whether they are 5 years old or 50 plus… they will lesl-autismove to play with you and the whole classroom.  ESL game + is a complete webiste where you can find activities for everyone! Of course, you can adapt for your students necessities. Needless to say, it is very simple and easy to work with. It works perfectly in interactive white boards, computers and tablets.

By the way, during  Joe Dale’s session at the 50th Iatelf in April, He brought to the audience many great ideas to work with our students. This one really caught my attention, it is called – Ultratext. Since I have showed them during the classes, I have recieved some great ideas. They know that I love facebook – it is where I interact more with teachers, educators almost everyday. So during one of our meetings, one of them create a very cute text and I sent to me to post on my facebook. It was pretty nice way to show them how it can be possible to connect to the world today – people from Greece, Turkey, France, USA and Brazil replied the post in comments and I showed them. It was an amazing time, because they didn’t realize that a simple text would go so far.

We can have a wonderful time using technology in our favor. Many teachers refuse to use some apps or websites arguing that they can be noisy or not obey the rules and avoid to come back to the class routine. However, it is necessary do give them the right instructions and elicit from them what is the goal of the use of tablets or mobiles during the classes. A messy and noisy classroom, we might deal with it even not using any apps. Thus, establish rules and goals to the activities are the best choice ever.

To sum up, there are many tools and apps that we can help our students to develop their skills and also get the best of them using technology. When we are opened to bring new sources to facilitate and also stimulate the learning process in an inclusive enviromnemt, these children, teens and adults will be able to connect to the world with more attention and desire to learn even more. We cannot forget that technology is one of their favorite things, most of them are able to create and develop things and processes than anyone else.would do. Actually, there are some studies based on this fact – called The Geek Syndrome, so using technology to help them keep up with other students in the classroom are more than welcome, it is an inclusive tool.

Here you will find some apps and tools that might help your students with autism and dyslexia.

Top 5 apps for SEN

Awesome Autism Apps 

Apps and Dyslexia 

 

Here it is my webinar “Engage students with SEN using Apps on #etwinedu

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

